Dear Vegetarians: Please Stop Annoying People

7

August 28, 2013 by Milda

There! I said it. If you don’t eat meat, you’re probably annoying the hell out of the people around you. Seriously, though. Stahp.

Now, I feel myself going down in flames already, after the title and how I started this article. But I get a pass. You know why? Well, I’m a vegetarian myself, year and a half and counting. I even explained why: Why I’m a Vegetarian, or Associating Meat with Murder.

To be quite honest with you all, being a vegetarian is sometimes very hard to me. I was always the person who absolutely loves meat, all kinds of it, every day. I feel bad saying this, but I don’t know whether I’ve got it to not eat meat for the rest of my life. However, I do believe that not eating meat is absolutely the right choice, it is just not an easy one to make. If our world worked better, maybe it wouldn’t be so unethical, but it doesn’t and it is, and that’s the end of it.

You know how they joke that you don’t have to ask who’s the vegetarian, they will tell you? Well you guys, they say that for a good reason.

Yes, not eating meat is more ethical, more humane and all that jazz, it really is. But other animals eat meat, too, and this is where it gets sticky. Rarely anything is black or white, and neither is being a vegetarian. While there’s a strong chance you’re doing the right thing if you stick to non-meat products, there’s also the fact that plants are alive too.

Then there’s that thing where doing a good thing doesn’t make you better than everybody else around you. If you think it does, it’s cool. If you show that you think it does, you’re just being a jerk, hun.

I feel like very often people who do not eat meat feel like they’re sacrificing something and they need to get their kicks out of telling everybody how good it makes them. Stop right there. Making a good decision doesn’t make you a good person, just like making a bad decision doesn’t make you a bad person. It makes you human, and at the end of the day, what matters is that you stick to good decisions more often and that you don’t intentionally do bad things.

Yes, the meat in the plate is a dead animal carcass. Do you really need to point it out, though? They know what it is. This is not the way to make somebody think about actually stopping eating meat. It will just annoy them, and quite rightfully so. If they ever do stop, it has to be their own decision, based on their own philosophy.

In other words, get off your high horse. Kudos for you being a vegetarian, but remember that you too ate meat once. Stop judging people, it’s not like they’re wearing socks with sandals. And if somebody asks you, go right ahead and tell them about it. But you don’t get a pass for being a jerk just because you’re doing one good thing.

(P.S. The featured image is a gif of Darren Criss being Blaine Anderson in Glee. My new layout doesn’t show it in all its awesomeness, so click here for that!)

7 thoughts on “Dear Vegetarians: Please Stop Annoying People

  1. EmKay says:

    I would like to thank you for being so self aware and realistic. Seriously, you’re right and you own your downfalls. Go you.

  2. […] Dear Vegetarians: Please Stop Annoying People (eveningmister.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Dear Vegetarians: Please Stop Annoying People (eveningmister.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] You know what’s a bad idea? To write about something personal that you do on the Internet. Remember when I wrote about being vegetarian? I mean, you should, because “Why I’m A Vegetarian or Associating Meat with Murder, The Most Annoying Question You Can Ask a Vegetarian, Dear Vegetarians, Please Stop Annoying People“. […]

  5. […] Dear Vegetarians: Please Stop Annoying People (eveningmister.wordpress.com) […]

Let's discuss this.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

